Digital Photography Blog

Aidan Mino

Weird Photography

Water beads picture.

Water & oil picture.

Shadow picture.

Refraction picture

Reflection Pictures:
a. What is the distinct mood of the photograph? Explain. The refraction photo gives an alert mood. It gives off an alert mood because the bright fire stands out in front of the black void. The fire is bright and scary.
b. What does the photo make you think about? Explain.
The refraction photo makes me think about anger and evil. Fire symbolizes these things, which is the subject of the photo. It also makes me think about how important fire is and how we use it every day.
c. What in the photo jumps out at you? Explain.               In the refraction photo, the void behind the fire stands out to me. The total blackness behind the bright fire accentuates the fire’s importance in the picture.
d. How does the photo make you feel? Explain.              The refraction photo makes me feel comforted and safe. This is because, in real life, fire gives me these feelings.
e. What advice would you give to next year’s students for shooting abstract photography? Explain.                         To future students, I advise them to be patient and enjoy the process when taking pictures. In addition, make sure not to overcommit, nor undercommit on the amount of editing done to the picture.

.

Next Post

Previous Post

5 Comments

  1. thomas December 11, 2023

    I like multiple colors. I like the repetition, the pattern. I also like the clear quality of the photo.

    I think he could do a little better cropping. I don’t know if it could look better with the bowl or not. I also think he could play around with the brightness or contrast of this.

    My advice for them would be to take multiple photos. I would also suggest taking a photo from a different angle. Mentioning the adjustments again try to play with brightness and warmth.

  2. lukegar26 December 13, 2023

    I like how the flame goes through the apple. It makes the fire seem uncontrollable. It is a very cool effect. One thing that could be better is making the image less blurry. Making the image less blurry would make the flame more clear and the apple more clear. This would make the image better. One piece of advice I would give is to make it less blurry and adjust the settings to fix this. The image would be more clear and detailed. It would overall be better.

  3. ryanlei24 December 19, 2023

    I do like the pink coloring in the background and the use of multiple shapes. I think the pink makes the photo more interesting and pops. The pink really also makes the shapes look better as well.
    A thing that could be better in this photo is that the shadows are actually visible. I like the idea of more then one shape but here isn’t an actual shadow in the photo instead there is just a black background. I definilty think this photo would be better if they extended the pink background.
    Make your angles get all of the shadows of both of your shapes. It will work a lot better if they got all of the shadows in the actual photo. I definitely think that this photo looks good but could be much better.

  4. samgoo26 December 19, 2023

    Who are you critiquing?
    Aidan Mino
    Which image? Describe
    Refraction Picture
    What do you like most about the photo? Explain writing 3 sentences in the block to the right.
    I like the detail in the photo, even through a glass apple. The refraction makes it look really good because it flips the photo upside down. This and the darkness of the photo, which allows you to focus more on the fire.
    What is one thing that could be better in the photo? Explain writing 3 sentences in the block to the right.
    I would try to dim down the light reflecting from the surface which the glass apple is on. It is a bit distracting, but still looks cool. Even though it looks cool, it takes away from the main focus of the photo.
    What one piece of advice for the photographer to help them make their work better next time? Explain writing 3 sentences in the block to the right.
    Take a different angle, one which is more straight-on. Although it looks good, it would be even better if it was more focused on the glass apple. This would allow the viewer to focus more on the glass apple.

  5. samnna25 December 20, 2023

    I like the pattern of the water beads. Similar colors are grouped together which is easy on the eye to look at. This is coupled with the fact that bright colors are used, which makes it a great photo to look at. One thing that I would’ve improved is making the background of the photo less bland. The background takes away from the overall colorful theme the photo is trying to bring about with the water beads. There should be color throughout the whole photo to truly maximize its potential. Next time I would add a shadow that resembles the color of your water beads to fill the photo with more color. If you can’t do that, crop the photo. You should crop the photo so that the bowl is only seen in the photo.

Leave a Reply

© 2024 Digital Photography Blog

Theme by Anders Norén

Skip to toolbar